The short answer is that an SD card carries several speed labels, and they describe different parts of performance rather than competing versions of one score. The old Speed Class sets a minimum sequential write rate: Class 10 means at least 10 MB/s, U1 means at least 10 MB/s, and U3 means at least 30 MB/s. Video Speed Class adds V6, V10, V30, V60, and V90, representing minimum writes of 6, 10, 30, 60, and 90 MB/s. Application Performance Class is different again: A1 requires at least 1,500 random-read and 500 random-write IOPS, while A2 requires 4,000 random reads and 2,000 random writes, plus sustained sequential writes of 10 MB/s for A1 and 20 MB/s for A2. For a camera or drone, the Video Class is usually the label to trust; for a phone, Steam Deck, or Raspberry Pi running apps, the Application Class matters more. The maximum MB/s printed in large type is a marketing-facing peak, not a promise of steady recording speed.
The labels on an SD card
Also worth reading: How to choose travel headshots for dating profiles? · What is the best first photo for a dating profile and how do I choose it? · Film vs digital photography 2026 guide, which should you choose?
SD Association specifications define speed labels as minimum sustained performance under specified test conditions, so the number is a floor rather than a typical result. A V30 card must sustain at least 30 MB/s in the relevant test, but it may reach 90 MB/s for part of a transfer and still be sold as V30. The same distinction explains why two V30 cards can feel different during a long export: both meet the 30 MB/s threshold, yet their sustained curves, controller behavior, and host compatibility can vary. A card marked 170 MB/s may be reporting a read burst, a write burst, or a figure measured with a particular reader, so the label alone cannot establish real-world performance. The physical form also matters: SDHC covers capacities above the original SD range up to 32 GB, while SDXC normally covers 64 GB through 2 TB, and SDUC extends the addressable range beyond that; capacity format is separate from speed class. A card can be SDXC and V30, or SDHC and U1, because those fields answer different questions.
Why the ratings differ
The speed systems were introduced for different workloads, which is why a higher-looking number does not automatically mean a better card for every device. Speed Class was designed around early video recording, UHS Speed Class around higher-bitrate capture, and Video Speed Class around 4K, 8K, and multi-stream workflows. Application Performance Class was created for devices that launch apps and write many small files, where random IOPS can matter more than a single large-file transfer. A card can therefore be excellent at copying a 20 GB photo library yet struggle with a game that constantly saves small assets, or it can run an app well while remaining a poor choice for 8K video. Bus modes such as UHS-I and UHS-II describe the interface path, not the guaranteed recording floor, and a UHS-II card can still be mislabeled or paired with a weak controller. The useful question is not which badge has the largest number, but which minimum the device needs and which workload will dominate.
How speed is actually measured
Manufacturers test sequential speed by writing or reading a large continuous file, while application tests measure thousands of small operations and report IOPS. Sequential MB/s is useful for video, burst photography, and moving a folder, but it says little about the delay caused by random reads and writes. IOPS counts operations per second, so A1's 1,500-read and 500-write requirement is not directly comparable with V30's 30 MB/s minimum; they are different units for different behavior. A camera may also impose its own limits: a V90 card cannot make a body record 8K if the body's processor, buffer, or interface tops out at V30. Temperature adds another variable, because flash controllers can reduce speed after sustained writes to protect the card, especially in a small drone or action camera exposed to sun. For travel use, test the card in the actual device and reader rather than relying on a synthetic benchmark from a phone or laptop.
Choosing the right class
For ordinary travel photos, a U1 or Class 10 card is often enough because a 12–24 MP JPEG or RAW sequence rarely needs a 90 MB/s floor. For 4K video, V30 is the practical starting point, since many cameras target bitrates that require a sustained write rate near or above 30 MB/s. V60 and V90 become more relevant for high-bitrate 4K, 6K, 8K, All-Intra recording, or cameras that write several streams at once. A phone used mainly for storage can work with U1 or U3, while a phone running apps from the card should look for A1 or A2 and confirm that the operating system permits the feature. The Steam Deck and similar handhelds often benefit from A1 or A2 behavior, but the device's own storage limits and game requirements still determine the result. When buying, match the class to the hardest task you expect, not to the most expensive camera you might own someday.
Speed classes compared
| Rating | Minimum sequential write | Minimum random performance | Best fit | Main limitation | Typical 2026 street price |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Class 10 | 10 MB/s | Not specified | Older cameras and basic HD video | No UHS or application guarantee | $5–$12 for 32–128 GB |
| U1 | 10 MB/s | Not specified | 1080p video and general storage | Often too slow for demanding 4K | $6–$15 for 64–128 GB |
| U3 | 30 MB/s | Not specified | Many 4K cameras and drones | Random app performance is unknown | $8–$25 for 128–256 GB |
| V30 | 30 MB/s | Not specified | 4K travel video and action cameras | Not a substitute for A1/A2 app testing | $10–$30 for 128–256 GB |
| V60 | 60 MB/s | Not specified | High-bitrate 4K, 6K, and some 8K | Requires a compatible UHS-II host for full benefit | $35–$90 for 128–256 GB |
| V90 | 90 MB/s | Not specified | Professional 8K and high-rate RAW video | Expensive and often unnecessary for casual use | $80–$250+ for 128–512 GB |
| A1 | 10 MB/s sustained sequential | 1,500 read / 500 write IOPS | Phones and small app workloads | Video minimum is only U1-level | $10–$30 for 128–256 GB |
| A2 | 20 MB/s sustained sequential | 4,000 read / 2,000 write IOPS | Handhelds and app-heavy Android devices | Needs host support; not always faster for video | $20–$60 for 128–512 GB |
The most common mistake is treating the largest printed number as the card's guaranteed speed. A package may show 200 MB/s while the fine print identifies a read-only peak, a special reader, or a short burst that disappears during a 20-minute recording. Another error is assuming that UHS-II is automatically faster in a UHS-I slot; the extra row of contacts can help only when the camera, reader, and card all support the mode. People also confuse capacity with speed, buying a 1 TB card with a weak controller and then wondering why a smaller V30 card performs better. Formatting the card in the wrong file system can create problems too: many devices expect exFAT for capacities above 32 GB, while older gear may require FAT32, but reformatting does not turn a slow card into a fast one. Counterfeit cards remain a real risk in marketplaces, so a suspiciously cheap 512 GB V90 card should be verified with a full write-and-read test rather than trusted because its logo looks correct.
Travel, AI headshots, and dating profiles
For travel photography, the card's job is to keep the camera available while a scene is changing, not to make the final image look sharper. A V30 card is a sensible default for a mirrorless camera recording 4K clips, while V60 or V90 is easier to justify for a cinema camera, a high-bitrate drone, or a long burst session with large RAW files. For AI travel portraits and dating-profile headshots, the capture stage still benefits from reliable writes, but the computational stage depends more on the phone, laptop, or cloud service that processes the images. Moving 200 source photos from a card to a computer is usually a read task, so a fast reader and a healthy USB port can matter more than V90. If you generate profile variants on a phone, A1 or A2 can reduce app stutter, but it will not improve facial detail by itself. The sensible split is to use a V30 or higher card for capture, a fast UHS reader for transfer, and enough local or cloud storage for the edited set.
When to upgrade and what it costs
As of 10 September 2026, a traveler shooting JPEGs and occasional 1080p clips can usually stay with a reputable U1 or Class 10 card, while a 4K shooter should plan around V30. Upgrade when the camera displays a recording error, stops after a short clip, takes an unusually long time to clear its buffer, or fails during a burst that previously worked. A card that completes short tests but slows sharply after 10–20 GB may still be acceptable for photos, yet it is a poor match for uninterrupted video. Prices vary by capacity, brand, retailer, and region, but common U3/V30 cards in 128–256 GB sizes often cost roughly $10–$30, while V60 and V90 models can cost several times as much. Buying two smaller, verified cards can reduce the chance that one failure erases an entire trip, although it also creates more items to manage. Replace a card before an important trip if it is several years old, has been heavily written, shows errors, or came from an unknown seller, because the cost of replacement is small compared with losing irreplaceable photos.
A practical buying and testing plan
Start by checking the camera or phone manual for its supported SD format, maximum capacity, file system, and recommended video class; the device limit is more useful than a generic buying guide. Choose the lowest class that covers your hardest regular task, then add capacity only after confirming that the host can address it and that the card's sustained performance remains acceptable at that size. Buy from a seller with a clear return policy, register the product where possible, and avoid listings that combine a huge capacity, a top speed badge, and a price far below established brands. After purchase, format the card in the device that will use it, copy a representative mix of files, and run a full-capacity verification tool that writes and reads back the entire card. For video, record at the highest bitrate you expect for at least 20–30 minutes and watch for dropped frames, file corruption, or a sudden speed drop. For app use, run the device's own storage test or a reputable benchmark several times, because a single score can hide thermal throttling and random-write weakness.
The bottom line
The ignored letter is not universally the only one that matters, but the right minimum rating is the one that matches the workload. For most travel video, V30 is the clearest baseline; for high-bitrate or professional recording, V60 and V90 provide more headroom. For phones, handhelds, and app-heavy devices, A1 or A2 is the label to examine, while U3 alone tells you little about random performance. Large peak-speed claims can guide comparison between two otherwise similar cards, but they should not override a verified minimum, a compatible host, or a real-world test. A reliable midrange card bought from a reputable seller is usually a better travel companion than an expensive badge that the camera cannot use. Keep a spare, test it before departure, and choose speed by the task rather than by the size of the number on the package.